PDA

View Full Version : Inktomi listings in MSN & Hotbot


Joshas
03-08-2003, 21:19/09:19PM
Hi,

This is my first time using this web site, I have browsed it many times and found lots of useful information. Thanks Guys!!

But my question is:

When Inktomi receive a new web site URL to list in the SE's from their Paid Inclusion database (either thru ineedhits.com, PTech etc.) a long string is attached to the URL with a "c=1120" or "c=2701" number. I am guessing that these are codes for each of their partners URLs, but is there any way to find out which code refers to which partner?

I have signed up some of my clients thru ineedhits.com and all of them are showing click-thrus, except 2 URLs which appear to have different "c=###" numbers, which has lead me to believe that the clicks that these sites are receiving are being logged with these other partner PI programs.

These clients have paid me to give them monthly click-thru reports and so far no clicks are showing up in my management area. Is there any way to get my listing from ineedhits.com to show in the search engines instead of this other one?

ihelpyou
03-08-2003, 22:00/10:00PM
Welcome to the forums Joshas! :hi:

I can't help you much as I've never paid to be Inktomi. I would say that it may be as simple as you are not showing in the results for a keyphrase because the particular engine has a different algo.

Others may be able to give more answers.

MakeMeTop
03-08-2003, 22:25/10:25PM
Are you saying that you have put URLs in through Ineedhits that are already in paid inclusion?

If so, then the original PFI tracking code for the first PFI partner will show up.

In order to get the code to be replaced, you need to:

a) suspend the URL with Ineedhits
b) suspend the URL with the previous PFI vendor
c) un-suspend the URL with Ineedhits.

If it still doesn't show up, then contact Ineedhits and explain the situation - but only after you have suspended the URLs from the first PFI partner.

Joshas
03-08-2003, 22:51/10:51PM
Thanks for the info.

My client has no recollection of subscribing to any other PI program, other that the one I have placed thru ineedhits, so I have no idea who the other provider is to contact them.

The Inktomi strings include the partner codes (in MSN):

"c=2700" for http://www.coralreefresort.com.au

and

"c=2701" for http://www.cairnsbeachresort.com.au

Is there any way to find out who this other vendor is so I can contact them to suspend the URLs?

MakeMeTop
03-08-2003, 23:01/11:01PM
Well, those two URLs are certainly in a PFI program!

I would check with Ineedhits and see if they can find out from Inktomi what is happening.