View Full Version : Old-Fashioned Spam. How Come It Works?
Irony
14-11-2005, 04:17/04:17AM
#11 for file rename in Google is www.digitalcamerautility.com. Actually, they used to be on the first page, but now looks like Google is starting to pay attention (their site: SERP looks like a permanent ban approaching ... at last...). But they still rank... and they have been there for too long time for such a pathetic example of spam!
<STYLE>
.STEALTH { FONT-SIZE : 1PT; COLOR : #FFFFFF; VISIBILITY : HIDDEN; }
</STYLE>
They didn't even move this to a separate file, it's in the code of the home page. CLASS="STEALTH" is used all through the code - and not just for plain text, but for LINKS! Also, take a look at those metatags!
They didn't come up with Jagger. They have been there for YEARS!
UGH!
Irony
14-11-2005, 04:30/04:30AM
They've got a huge reciprocal link directory within the site, as well.
I'd like to attract attention of everyone reading this thread, to it: they are bad neighborhood, and their link pages are already out of Google index, so if you ever exchanged links with this site, time to break that partnership!
Peter (IMC)
05-12-2005, 23:33/11:33PM
I guess nobody ever bothered to report them...
But I doubt they rank high because of the spamming. The reason they still rank so high, I think, is answered in your question. You said: "They have been there for YEARS!" Must be an old domain then, and Google loves old domains. Gives a powerful boost.
Irony
06-12-2005, 00:22/12:22AM
Somebody bothered :) I seldom touch the report form, but these are too blatant.
I'm aware of the "old domains" thing, but usually when I see sites like this one, I see them with PR0 and their site: listings show "sorry, no result, blah blah blah". Regardless of the age.
Oh well...
polarmate
06-12-2005, 00:27/12:27AM
That web site, Irina, links to an SEO site that is on the profile of this member (http://www.ihelpyouservices.com/forums/member.php?action=getinfo&userid=1479). :rolleyes:
Irony
06-12-2005, 01:25/01:25AM
LOL, yes... and shows 404 :lol:
Probably the only site out of those SEO'd by them, which is not banned yet.
They didn't even bother to move the spammy CSS bit into a separate file, but left it in the code of the homepage. Would be very easy to detect algorithmically.
ihelpyou
06-12-2005, 07:51/07:51AM
LOL We remember O'l SEO Dave real well in here.
I'd like him to post to defend that crap. :D
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.