View Full Version : Digital Infinity again
gio3
23-07-2006, 16:10/04:10PM
Today I have found in my logs I was deeply spidered by Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.0.3705; .NET CLR 1.1.4322) from Host: 208.66.195.8
With an IP search it's Digital Infinity again (psycheclone with another user name)
McColo Corporation MCCOLO (NET-208-66-192-0-1)
208.66.192.0 - 208.66.195.255
Digital Infinity Ltd DIGITALINFINITY (NET-208-66-195-0-1)
208.66.195.0 - 208.66.195.15
It seems to be able to change of user agent.
Maybe it's better to ban the IP range.
Gio
Connie
23-07-2006, 17:41/05:41PM
Block them form the IP address rather than user agent. You will probably need to block the entire range. Thanks for the post.
gio3
23-07-2006, 17:50/05:50PM
Thanks Connie,
I have just changed in this way:
<Limit GET POST PUT>
Order allow,deny
deny from env=blocked
deny from 208.66.195.0/15
allow from all
</limit>
the code provided by Deb.
I checked some .htaccess tutorials and tested the server response, it seems to be correct.
Any suggestion is welcome
Gio
Connie
23-07-2006, 18:28/06:28PM
Here is what I use to block a IP address. Deb provided this a long time ago in relation to a different problem.
<Files 403.shtml>
order allow,deny
allow from all
</Files>
deny from 66.199.231.202
deny from 216.40.224.6
deny from 70.87.42.250
From experimenting the code you posted will result in a 500 error response on the server my sites are on
<Limit GET POST PUT>
Order allow,deny
deny from env=blocked
deny from 208.66.195.0/15
allow from all
</limit>
However, this works fine for blocking user agents. (again posted by Deb)
SetEnvIfNoCase User-agent "ZyBorg" spammer=yes
<Limit GET POST PUT>
Order allow,deny
deny from env=spammer
allow from all
</limit>
I really don't know the difference between the 2 different ways of
blocking. I just know that one causes a server error and one doesn't on my sites.
I'm also curious to know if this will work.
SetEnvIfNoCase User-agent "http://www.domain.com" spammer=yes
SetEnvIfNoCase User-agent "IP address" spammer=yes
SetEnvIfNoCase User-agent "ZyBorg" spammer=yes
<Limit GET POST PUT>
Order allow,deny
deny from env=spammer
allow from all
</limit>
Every tutitorial has different instructions. Hopefully, there is one way to handle all three but I haven't found one to date.
gio3
24-07-2006, 01:45/01:45AM
Thanks again Connie,
I'm searching to block the bad bots list and also the IP addresses range.
In my server it seems to work.
I get a 301 response for the not www, a 200 response for the www and a 403 response if I use the user agent switcher tool with the string of one of the blocked agents.
I still don't know if it will ban the IP range
Gio
WebSavvy
24-07-2006, 03:07/03:07AM
You can't put anything else in here besides the directives:
This is incorrect:
<Limit GET POST PUT>
Order allow,deny
deny from env=blocked
deny from 208.66.195.0/15
allow from all
</limit>
This is correct:
<Limit GET POST PUT>
Order allow,deny
deny from env=blocked
allow from all
</limit>
deny from 208.66.195.0/15
Anything you want to block must live below the ending line
</limit>
gio, I'll have a look through my logs in a little bit and see if it's hitting my server too. I'll test out some code variations and see what I can come up with that might help.
:)
gio3
24-07-2006, 10:36/10:36AM
Thanks a lot Deb
Gio
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.