PDA

View Full Version : Position Tech Activities Question


Cavetoad
15-03-2002, 10:53/10:53AM
Just curious, I've seen an awful dramatic rise in the number of junk mails going to the account that I listed with PT to sign up for my Ink submissions, do they sell their email list and how can I get off that list? I don't have that email listed with anything else recently that would account for my sudden popularity with the weight-loss and web hosting crowd. If not PT, I'll have to keep digging.

-Tom

markymark
15-03-2002, 11:01/11:01AM
I wouldn't have thought PT would sell on your email address, but there are ways that spammers can get hold of an exclusive email address without it being sold on. Something to do with data-mining servers or some such ? I'm sure that Alan can explain this stuff, it's more his field than mine.

Cavetoad
15-03-2002, 11:07/11:07AM
Just checking. I'm just trying to see if I can find out what's up with it. Thought that I'd start there. It might not be them. I'm not trying to pick a fight or point fingers, you just get better answers from a forum then you do from emailing them directly. I'll keep looking. Pesky data mining.

Alan Perkins
19-03-2002, 17:35/05:35PM
Tip: if you can create unlimited (virtual or real) e-mail addresses, create a new one for each new service you sign up to. Then you will know the source if you start to receive spam. What you can do about it is another matter. :(

dvduval
19-03-2002, 17:42/05:42PM
You know a fun thing to do if you have control over the mail server for your domain is to give them an email address like this:

positiontech @ ihelpyouservices.com (example)

Then if they sell it, their busted!

{ just breaking it up as the spambots can have a heyday with emails in posts. :) }

Alan Perkins
19-03-2002, 17:52/05:52PM
Yep, that's the kind of thing I meant, dvd. :)

JuniorHarris
25-03-2002, 15:24/03:24PM
Great advice dvduval!~ Creating a specific "service" email account is the best way to go, and then you know for sure who's selling you out. I've done just that for PositionTech, and to date I've not received any spam at that address...