View Full Version : Tim Willis - webresultpros
Blue
27-05-2007, 15:14/03:14PM
I've received at least two spam emails from this joker:
tim@webresultpros.com
http://www.webresultpros.com/
Subject: more website traffic
"I can get more people to your site each month. Let me know if you're interested.
-Tim Willis"
Connie
27-05-2007, 15:50/03:50PM
I'm getting a "Under Construction Page" when clicking on the link.
Blue
27-05-2007, 16:54/04:54PM
Yes, me too.
SEFL
27-05-2007, 17:04/05:04PM
I got the same email, but not from a Tim. It was from a "Wes".
Connie
27-05-2007, 17:15/05:15PM
Originally posted by Blue
Yes, me too.
Says a lot about him. Sending out spam email is bad enough. Linking to an under-construction page in that spam email is stupidity at it's highest level.
ihelpyou
27-05-2007, 19:52/07:52PM
lol isn't that one of the oldest "under construction' animated images of the internet? I think Al Gore invented that image, right? :D
Soooo many scammers. Soooo little time.
Dave Hawley
28-05-2007, 02:20/02:20AM
LOL! Hopefully it will stay "under construction forever. At least nobody can read the no doubt high risk spammy SEO advice it will eventually contain.
g1smd
28-05-2007, 07:08/07:08AM
That notice is provided by the registrar or hoster for a site that hasn't yet been accessed by the owner.
>> Registration Service Provided By: NameCheap.com - - that says it all.
Registered in the US; Hosted in Beijing:
http://whois.domaintools.com/webresultpros.com
Quadrille
06-06-2007, 08:33/08:33AM
Originally posted by g1smd
>> Registration Service Provided By: NameCheap.com - - that says it all. It certainly does.
I bought a used domain, already registered with them - they charge a fee for EVERYTHING. Registration may be 'cheap', they get the money back with scams.
Strangely, the one thing they DON'T charge for is transferring to another registrar.
So I did.
timwillis
07-06-2007, 06:34/06:34AM
I just came across this thread on Google
...a customer of mine had just received the same email from a tim willis > tim@webresultpros.com, assumed it was from me and called to ask me what kind of SEO services I was now offering.
For the record my site marketingbydesign.co.uk has no association with these spamming *ssholes
I wondered why I had been having so much email returned, rejected as spam!
I guess that the fact that my name is being used in association with one of the webs top 25 spam sites means that my name is now mud with the spamlists.
WebSavvy
07-06-2007, 06:41/06:41AM
Hi Tim and welcome to IHY :hi:
That's too bad this has happened. Is the site that's mentioned in those spam emails, yours?
If so, I have to ask, have you hired any SEOs through eLance?
We had a member here not too long ago that had hired a specific company (known for spamming) and he fired them. They continued to send out spam emails using HIS COMPANY name instead of their own.
timwillis
07-06-2007, 07:00/07:00AM
No, I have no connection with webresultpros and wouldn't use such a company.
The fact that someone who actually knows me received one of these emails suggests how widely my name may have been used.
I do have an informative marketing website (as mentioned previously) which touches on the basics of SEO techniques and I guess that because of this my name was harvested through Google?
Quadrille
07-06-2007, 07:09/07:09AM
... or it may be simply bad luck; spammers rarely use real names; they may have taken yours from a California phone book.
The 'good news' is that having started their spam campaign before the site was fixed, they are fairly likely to use a different name for the next 20,000,000 - when they mean business.
Especially as that email address is spam-labelled by all competent mailing systems by now!
Dave Hawley
07-06-2007, 08:29/08:29AM
Sue their arses I say!
Blue
07-06-2007, 11:33/11:33AM
Welcome to the forums the real Tim! :hi:
We feel your pain.
timwillis
07-06-2007, 11:46/11:46AM
Hey thanks for the welcome
On the positive side of things, it looks like I've found a pretty useful site here!
:)
SEFL
07-06-2007, 12:25/12:25PM
Hey Tim,
I think this is more a case of unfortunate coincidence than anything. The problem with the names "Tim" and "Willis" as that both are fairly common, and a spammer can come up with a fake name based off of those two without much effort.
I often use fictitious names to screw with the heads of spammers, and I usually pick two common names and join them together (e.g. John Lilly, my old fake name...can't tell you what the new one is yet, though. ;) )
Connie
07-06-2007, 12:41/12:41PM
Hi Tim and welcome. :hi:
I was checking keywords this morning that are bringing visitors to my blog.
Spam-whackers is ranking #1 & 2 on Google for webresultpros.com and IHY is about number 5.
For webresultpros I'm #1 and IHY is #2.
For tim@webresultpros.com I'm # 1 and IHY is #2 & 3.
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.