View Full Version : fruitengine.com are prolific spammers
bbcdb
15-11-2007, 18:47/06:47PM
Hi there everyone, first post is a fairly long one.
I've been lurking on the forums for a while. I have more of an interest in tackling and defeating spammers rather than SEO since I administrate a busy community forum and dealing with forum spammers comes with the territory nowadays.
I just wanted to give everyone here a heads up on one VERY prolific forum spammer who almost managed to spam our forum today before I suspended the account. She usually registers on forums with either fruitengine_han or fruitengine_hannah as her usernames and spams 100s of forums ( just do a google search on the usernames to see how many forums they registered on ) with her client urls in her signature.
Ironically, whilst doing a google for the company name I found an article written by Maraya Mullen from the same company talking about [links removed] 'The Dangers of Black Hat SEO'.
Doh!
[If you've been "lurking around these forums for a while" you'd be aware that link drops are NOT allowed. So my guess is, you're just another spammer!]
bbcdb
16-11-2007, 03:35/03:35AM
[If you've been "lurking around these forums for a while" you'd be aware that link drops are NOT allowed. So my guess is, you're just another spammer!]
You're assumption is wrong in this case but I'll apologise for posting the url to the article ( I am in no way connected or affliated with them or the article). I felt like I needed to highlight the contradiction between what one of their company representatives publically spout and what they're actually doing in practice.
spectregunner
16-11-2007, 17:22/05:22PM
Well, then, welcome.
As you can tell, we have a fairly quick trigger for perceived spamming, especially when we see link drops in the first post.
One way that you can make obsevations about the industry is to name names wihtout providing clickable links, so you could say 'badguys(dot)com has been spamming my website' which gets around the issue of link drops and makes it clear that you are contributing, versus spamming.
bbcdb
18-11-2007, 18:57/06:57PM
Thanks for the belated welcome :)
I since done some digging around on this individual and have uncovered some revealing things. Most forum spammers that try and hit our site are usually anonymous but this one seems to have left trails all over the internet like a mice droppings in a larder.
Firstly she registers with her SEO company's email address ( duh ). Secondly her username is fairly similar to her email username. Thirdly if you do a google search on fruitengine + hannah on Google, you'll soon see her real name posted on one of those social/pro networking sites.
If you then do a Google search on her real name ( and it's a fairly uncommon name ), you see that amongst the 1000's of 'articles' she had spammed everywhere she has has claimed to be a copywriter for an ink cartridge company, ( which is a good coincidence since I spotted her doing a search on our forums for inkjet printer related threads and trying to reply to them before I killed her account ), a copywriter for an exotic escort agency in Toronto, ( sorry no link drop ;) ), a copywriter for an SEO company, a computer management company etc.
Basically she one of the worst pro - spammers I've ever had the misfortune to come across.
PS. May I be kind enough to ask for this thread to be moved back to the 'SEO's caught Spamming Forum' please?
ihelpyou
18-11-2007, 20:34/08:34PM
Welcome! :hi:
Yes; we welcome the outing of spammers in here. You could do as Spect wrote.
Someone will be along to move this thread back to the seo spammers forum. :)
Blue
19-11-2007, 00:42/12:42AM
Thread moved. ;)
bbcdb
19-11-2007, 11:42/11:42AM
Thanks for moving the thread.
Well, if you feel happy with me publically outing a spammer, the email address that they used with their forum registration was hannahe( at )fruitengine.com
with the IP 208.74.75.150, ( IP for fruitengine's domain is 208.74.75.137 ). The real name comes up in Google if you do a search for "fruitengine + hannah" is Hannah Echiverri.
So there's enough info here for forum admins to edit their .htaccess files.
lol, she's even tried to spam wikipedia;
User talk:Fruitengine
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
[edit] Fruit Engine
A tag has been placed on Fruit Engine, requesting that it be speedily deleted from Wikipedia. This has been done under the criteria for speedy deletion, because the article seems to be blatant advertising which only promotes a company, product, group or service and which would need to be fundamentally rewritten in order to become an encyclopedia article. Please read the general criteria for speedy deletion, particularly item 11, as well as the guidelines on spam.
If you can indicate why the subject of this article is not blatant advertising, you may contest the tagging. To do this, please add {{hangon}} on the top of the page and leave a note on the article's talk page explaining your position. Please do not remove the speedy deletion tag yourself, but don't hesitate to add information to the article that would help make it encyclopedic, as well as adding any citations from reliable sources to ensure that the article will be verifiable. Feel free to leave a note on my talk page if you have any questions about this. Jazznutuva 14:35, 1 May 2007 (UTC)
Connie
19-11-2007, 12:31/12:31PM
Welcome bbcdb. :hi:
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.