IncrediBILL
06-12-2007, 21:46/09:46PM
I just ranted about this one and it bears repeating here as well.
The user agent is:
"Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; LiteFinder/1.0; +http://www.litefinder.net/about.html)"
IMO it appears to be a ruse just to get people to use their big affiliate link site pretending to be a search engine (http://www.litefinder.net/), which has nothing to do with search whatsoever because anything you search just dumps 10 random affiliate links totally unrelated to the topic.
On their "about" page they refuse to tell you their bot's IPs as being "against the company policy" so here are the IPs I've seen them crawl from so you know what to block:
208.101.44.3 -> mybluewine.net.
209.160.65.42 -> hopone.net.
209.62.109.178 -> ev1s-209-62-109-178.ev1servers.net.
216.40.220.34 -> ev1s-216-40-220-34.ev1servers.net.
216.40.222.50 -> ev1s-216-40-222-50.ev1servers.net.
216.40.222.66 -> ev1s-216-40-222-66.ev1servers.net.
216.40.222.82 -> ev1s-216-40-222-82.ev1servers.net.
216.40.222.98 -> ev1s-216-40-222-98.ev1servers.net.
67.19.114.226 -> w103.networkharmony.com.
67.19.250.26 -> 1a.fa.1343.static.theplanet.com.
70.85.113.242 -> f2.71.5546.static.theplanet.com.
74.53.243.226 -> e2.f3.354a.static.theplanet.com.
74.53.243.242 -> f2.f3.354a.static.theplanet.com.
74.53.244.18 -> 12.f4.354a.static.theplanet.com.
74.53.249.34 -> 22.f9.354a.static.theplanet.com.
74.86.209.74 -> templatestill.com.
74.86.249.98 -> westhoste.net.
75.125.18.178 -> ev1s-75-125-18-178.ev1servers.net.
75.125.47.162 -> ev1s-75-125-47-162.ev1servers.net.
75.125.52.146 -> ev1s-75-125-52-146.ev1servers.net.
84.19.176.208 -> ns.km22118.keymachine.de.
87.118.118.111 -> ns.km31417.keymachine.de.
87.118.98.57 -> ns.km22427.keymachine.de.
87.118.98.62 -> ns.km22426.keymachine.de.
The best method to stop most of these types of bots in the first place is to simply block all of ev1servers.net. theplanet.com, and keymachine.de's ranges of IPs and then a whole bunch more.
How do you find these ranges of IPs?
On ARIN.NET like this:
http://ws.arin.net/whois/?queryinput=theplanet.com
http://ws.arin.net/whois/?queryinput=Everyones+Internet
That should get you off to a good start!
The user agent is:
"Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; LiteFinder/1.0; +http://www.litefinder.net/about.html)"
IMO it appears to be a ruse just to get people to use their big affiliate link site pretending to be a search engine (http://www.litefinder.net/), which has nothing to do with search whatsoever because anything you search just dumps 10 random affiliate links totally unrelated to the topic.
On their "about" page they refuse to tell you their bot's IPs as being "against the company policy" so here are the IPs I've seen them crawl from so you know what to block:
208.101.44.3 -> mybluewine.net.
209.160.65.42 -> hopone.net.
209.62.109.178 -> ev1s-209-62-109-178.ev1servers.net.
216.40.220.34 -> ev1s-216-40-220-34.ev1servers.net.
216.40.222.50 -> ev1s-216-40-222-50.ev1servers.net.
216.40.222.66 -> ev1s-216-40-222-66.ev1servers.net.
216.40.222.82 -> ev1s-216-40-222-82.ev1servers.net.
216.40.222.98 -> ev1s-216-40-222-98.ev1servers.net.
67.19.114.226 -> w103.networkharmony.com.
67.19.250.26 -> 1a.fa.1343.static.theplanet.com.
70.85.113.242 -> f2.71.5546.static.theplanet.com.
74.53.243.226 -> e2.f3.354a.static.theplanet.com.
74.53.243.242 -> f2.f3.354a.static.theplanet.com.
74.53.244.18 -> 12.f4.354a.static.theplanet.com.
74.53.249.34 -> 22.f9.354a.static.theplanet.com.
74.86.209.74 -> templatestill.com.
74.86.249.98 -> westhoste.net.
75.125.18.178 -> ev1s-75-125-18-178.ev1servers.net.
75.125.47.162 -> ev1s-75-125-47-162.ev1servers.net.
75.125.52.146 -> ev1s-75-125-52-146.ev1servers.net.
84.19.176.208 -> ns.km22118.keymachine.de.
87.118.118.111 -> ns.km31417.keymachine.de.
87.118.98.57 -> ns.km22427.keymachine.de.
87.118.98.62 -> ns.km22426.keymachine.de.
The best method to stop most of these types of bots in the first place is to simply block all of ev1servers.net. theplanet.com, and keymachine.de's ranges of IPs and then a whole bunch more.
How do you find these ranges of IPs?
On ARIN.NET like this:
http://ws.arin.net/whois/?queryinput=theplanet.com
http://ws.arin.net/whois/?queryinput=Everyones+Internet
That should get you off to a good start!