View Full Version : DomainTools Exposed
IncrediBILL
02-01-2008, 23:09/11:09PM
Not a bad bot exactly but there's no way to opt-out of their crap so I did an in depth report on DomainTools Whois and AboutUs.org (http://incredibill.blogspot.com/2008/01/domaintools-whois-and-aboutus-site.html) so if you want to keep their crawlers off your site or stop people snooping with their SEO tools everything you need to know is listed.
The basic IPs to block for DomainTools and AboutUs are:
66.249.16.*
66.249.17.*
64.246.165.* (screen shots)
[edit for clarification]
ihelpyou
03-01-2008, 07:53/07:53AM
Thanks Bill. This is very good info to know.
IncrediBILL
03-01-2008, 16:00/04:00PM
I was accused (http://www.aboutus.org/DailyBuzz) of confusing DomainTools and AboutUs.org!
I was never confused but whoever posted that I was apparently is just because I lumped them together because they operate from the same IP space and have some shared data in common such as the thumbnails.
I called AboutUs.org a companion site, considering they use the thumbnails from DomainTools (http://www.aboutus.org/UpdateThumbnail) and DomainTools Whois has a link from every domain to "AboutUs: Wiki article on ..." what would you call them?
They're both on nameintel servers:
host aboutus.org 66.249.16.230
host domaintools.com 66.249.17.251
They both access my server from the same IP block: 66.249.16.*
Let's see who both are registered to...
AboutUs, Inc.
12806 SE 22nd PL
Bellevue, WA
Domaintools.com
12806 SE 22nd PL
Bellevue, WA
98005
Same registration address unless that's an anonymous proxy registration.
Yup, I'm completely confused.
IncrediBILL
03-01-2008, 16:25/04:25PM
They are also running screenshots from 216.145.16.*
ihelpyou
03-01-2008, 19:43/07:43PM
Well gee then; if all the registrar information is exactly the same, how are you confused?
My next question might be to them; why are you trying to hide the relationship between the two?
Connie
03-01-2008, 20:17/08:17PM
After Bill's blog post I did a search for one of my domains that excludes all robots. The information displayed means they crawled the site in spite of robots.txt.
Thanks for the heads up Bill.
IncrediBILL
04-01-2008, 14:34/02:34PM
I kept looking and found the connection (http://www.aboutusweblog.org/category/did-you-know/)...
One of the questions posed was about our connection with Name Intellignece. Jay Westerdal, CEO of NameIntelligence.com, in fact, recently stepped down as AboutUs CTO...
Yup, I'm confused...
WebSavvy
04-01-2008, 15:41/03:41PM
Yeah, I knew about "AboutUs.org" a while ago.
They had MY logo, and MY index page content on THEIR server! I went there and removed it. Who the hell gave them the right to put my logo and my content on their friggin pages?
I was pissed. I edited it off of their servers 3 different times and the last time I posted they did NOT have my permission to have my copyrighted content and logo on their servers.
It never showed back up again on their servers after that. IMO, they're a bunch of lowlife scrapers.
It's just a stupid wiki script and anyone can edit it. :rolleyes:
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.