View Full Version : Does Looksmart have a spider?
Mel
02-08-2001, 09:55/09:55AM
Hi All:
today something came crawling around one of my sites according to my stats. It was under the guise of a Mozilla4 compatible browser. but it resolved back to http://wallaroo.looksmart.com. He gobbled up 31 pages and quietly departed. Anyone know who or what this might be?
ihelpyou
02-08-2001, 10:05/10:05AM
They may have a spider that simply checks periodically if a site is still online. That particular agent is a human from Looksmart. They may have followed a link from here to visit you. :)
ihelpyou
11-10-2001, 19:29/07:29PM
I was wrong Mel. Go figure. :) That is definitely a spider that Looksmart sends out. It hits these forums on a daily basis.
JuniorHarris
13-10-2001, 11:35/11:35AM
Mel did it hit pages which were not already listed in Looksmart? :eyes:
Mel
13-10-2001, 22:02/10:02PM
Hi JH
It spidered all the pages on my site recently listed in looksmart.
JuniorHarris
14-10-2001, 00:40/12:40AM
So it may just be verifying the pages as Doug suggested, but I also wonder if it is pulling any additional information.
ihelpyou
14-10-2001, 00:47/12:47AM
Yes, leads me to believe that not only does LS give us a category of keywords, BUT also has some kind of algo working and spiders a page occassionally to adjust ranks accordingly. Kind of like a real search engine. :eek:
We/I have wondered a little about this.
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.