PDA

View Full Version : http://www.link-builder.com


Alohahosts.com
21-06-2002, 12:14/12:14PM
Aloha,

I received an email (spammed) from this company http: //www.link-builder.com.

Just has me wondering how effective this sites are? I would assume that they would be held against you since the engines would not consider the links 'true' links.]

Any thoughts?

Karen

Big Guerrilla
21-06-2002, 12:48/12:48PM
The software they're offering seems pretty basic. It just finds other sites for you based on certain key words. and then can send out a pre-written email requesting reciprocal linkage. There are several programs out there like it already.

The sites themselves might been fine to request a link from, although you should definitely each site yourself so you don't hook up with link farms, etc.

sanity
08-07-2002, 22:27/10:27PM
I've just received this email on behalf of a client too. They word it so that it sounds like they have a client who wants to swap reciprocal links with you. From what is being said here and my review of the site I get the impression they are really just trying to sell us software. Is this others take on it?

TIA
Sophie

Big Guerrilla
08-07-2002, 22:37/10:37PM
Without seeing the email, it's hard to tell their intent. It could be a legitimate request on behalf of their client or it could be as you indicated i.e. a gambit to try to sell you their product.

chinook
05-09-2002, 14:56/02:56PM
I discovered chinook-computers.com in Google, my favorite search engine. I am requesting that you create a link from chinook-computers.com to my client's web site if you feel that their content is in some way related or complements your site. In exchange, I'll post a link from their site to yours.

Exchanging links will help bring in more business for both your web site and my client's. An added benefit is increased search engine traffic because the search engines rank sites higher that have a good number of relevant links.

This is not a free-for-all link exchange, I don't waste my time with them and you shouldn't either. I am only linking to related web sites so that all my links are relevant to my site.

I would like to send you my client's web address, so that you can review their site. My client utilizes search engine optimization research and technology for top search engine placement.

Please let me know if you are interested in exchanging links. I'll send you more details once I hear back from you.

Looking forward to your reply.

Sincerely,
Leslie Oneal
leslieoneal@link-builder.com
http://www.link-builder.com
P.S. If for any reason you don't want me to contact again, just email me and let me know.
****************
Here is the kind of email that is sent and so of course one checks out the website at the bottom of the signature. I would like to know more about these people (another Christine Hall, we don't need)

highman
05-09-2002, 15:04/03:04PM
I think these are the JScript link kiddies, the links back to you are worthless IF your after PR boost

ihelpyou
05-09-2002, 15:19/03:19PM
Yes. Not only that, but would you really reply to an email that is obviously a cut and paste template? It has NO personalization to it and does not mention your name. It's the same darn email we all get. I get this email almost DAILY. It is automatic as the program scours the Google SERPS and sends out spam email. That's what it does.

Then, what highman mentions is also what that program does. It's a scam. IMO all link generated auto programs are scams. You should manually search out a quality site and manually send the webmaster a personal email, AND only after you put their link on your site.

ALL those spam mailings get the delete button from me.

chinook
05-09-2002, 15:23/03:23PM
Well the good news is that since we are an isp we can simply block those emails at the border and then they won't annoy our customers.

scottiecl
06-09-2002, 00:52/12:52AM
My favorite is the one that includes a screenshot of your site along with the "I have visited your site and notice you are not listed on all the search engines...blah blah blah. " Wow!! They really do know my site! There it is in the email, in living color!

Actually, they know all my sites as within an hour I have received e-mails as they follow my "design by" links from site to site and send me more "personalized" messages! They must care about my business a lot...

The internet can be such a warm and fuzzy place... for bots that pretend they are humans...

Farhan
12-09-2002, 10:17/10:17AM
Okay just to check things out, I replied to their email. They then sent me a link of a search engine optmization company, with some invisible links (1 pixel) etc :eek:

bharatgautam
03-10-2002, 17:19/05:19PM
I understand that if several hundred domains were linking to my domain, the search engines would allocate me with higher relevance. However if all the domains had the same IP address would this still be the case.

scottiecl
03-10-2002, 20:19/08:19PM
Hey Doug-

Your "link to them first" strategy doesn't work with the web-uneducated.

I had a man call me today literally hysterical that I had put an "unauthorized link" to his site in on my directory page. I didn't even ask him for a link back, just let him know what I was doing and to let me know if he didn't want a link.

This bozo ranted and raved about what a stupid idea the directory was since now customers could just check prices and styles all over. Um... yeah? Like that is a bad thing?

I just laughed and told him I would be more than happy to remove his company from the page. Not a problem! I certainly wouldn't want to send any business his way.

BTW- his site doesn't even come up for relevant local phrases. I guess he doesn't WANT anyone finding his site. They might find out what he does for a living and call him to place an order!

:confused:

ihelpyou
03-10-2002, 20:23/08:23PM
LOL. It's all in how you craft the personal email to them. I know, some out there won't get it, and still won't, no matter what you say to them. Some people just don't have to stuff upstairs to get through to. Oh well.

sanity
03-10-2002, 20:41/08:41PM
Originally posted by scottiecl
BTW- his site doesn't even come up for relevant local phrases. I guess he doesn't WANT anyone finding his site. They might find out what he does for a living and call him to place an order!

:confused: LOL! Nice one Scottiecl. :cheers: