View Full Version : Registered Search Phrases - What is this?
Dave Z.
30-08-2002, 00:46/12:46AM
What are “Registered Search Phrases”? Someone cold called a friend of mine and sold her husband a “Registered Search Phrase” for $300.00! I asked her for the URL of the company that sold it to her miraitx.com The site gives very little info as to what they do.
Please help me find out if they were ripped off or not.
Thanks!
ihelpyou
30-08-2002, 00:51/12:51AM
Cold call? Sheesh, the person was quite the salesman then. I hang up on those without blinking.
Those people are spammers who redirect any searches to their network who buy these keywords. When Google finds out about them, they are quick to delete them. At least this is what I think it is.
sanity
30-08-2002, 00:55/12:55AM
Hi Dave Z.
I've not heard of RSP's before and as you said there's not much on their site. It seems to be something developed by Microsoft and sounds a bit like Real Names. I'm sure others here will be able to give you further info but I will say it looks like a scam to me!
Can your friend get out of it?
Hope this is of some help.
Sophie
Dave Z.
30-08-2002, 01:07/01:07AM
They have a “Browser Upgrade or something that they want you to install. The link on the Security Warning takes you to (http://www.igetnet.com/) I still can’t figure it out. Is it a special feature only for people who have the plug-in?
Kal
30-08-2002, 03:33/03:33AM
Sounds like another form of hijackware or scumware to me :confused:
Dave Z.
30-08-2002, 05:23/05:23AM
I looked for words that are available or not.
The word "search" has been taken by Yahoo.com, and "books" by barnesandnoble.com
Why would they buy into this?
Mertu
30-08-2002, 12:37/12:37PM
Your friend got taken. miraitx is a reseller or front for igetnet, discussed in this thread (http://www.ihelpyouservices.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=4585)
More than likely, according to one of the newsgroup posts I found, those companies didn't buy anything. igetnet probably set up pages that redirect to big name sites to make it look like major companies are buying into their <bleep>.
Sean
Blue
30-08-2002, 13:58/01:58PM
Hi Dave Z.
See this (http://www.ihelpyouservices.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=4585) thread.
ihelpyou
30-08-2002, 15:50/03:50PM
Your friend should get his money back unless he wishes to install scumware on his computer so that company can spy on him. It's a scam and probably illegal when it's all said and done.
Dave Z.
30-08-2002, 16:50/04:50PM
Those Bastarsd!
Dave Z.
30-08-2002, 23:27/11:27PM
I asked them for more information. They sent me this e-mail
I can give you a chance to lock up your market, lock out your competition and give you esclusivity in your market. Our Keyword platform is the fastest growing, most widely used browser-based search tool today - I suggest you climb on board while the great words for your market are still available
Brian Pasiemiak
Miraitx Inc.
(702)-967-3300 ext.107
What a bunch of BS
I don't think my friend is going to get her money back.
Thanks again for all your help.
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.