PDA

View Full Version : Email SPAM from topseos.com


Christian_SEO
25-10-2002, 12:45/12:45PM
Hi all,

Ya know, I see a lot of spam every day, but I just got 6 copies of the same message to 6 different addresses in my main domain from a joker who has SUCKED the addresses from my site!

The site, topseos.com, SEEMS like a legit site, with some big names listed, but with the spam marketing, I have to conclude it's not run by what I would call a professional.

Can I document what I say? Yeah, since both my cats got spammed...

Anyone else been contacted, I mean spammed, by http://www.topseos.***?

The sender's name on the spam is "bill.peden".

Text from message:
===========================================
Search Engine Optimization Firms

Register @

topseos.com


GET FREE LEADS
BUILD CREDIBILITY
GET LISTED ON A DIRECTORY - FOR SEO Gurus (PR for Directories Generally Rises QUICK!)
POST FREE ADVERTISEMENTS - LIMITED TIME
POST FREE ARTICLES -LIMITED TIME
GET SEARCHED BY YOUR SEO SPECIALTY

topseos.com - Your first and final destination before hiring an SEO firm.
==========================================

Thanks,
Christian

ihelpyou
25-10-2002, 12:57/12:57PM
YES. Same here a few minutes ago. They used addresses that only a bot could have found or would have used.

NOT professional at all and I let him know it as well.

I also would not be included in a directory that does not distinguish between the SES's (search engine spammers) and the professional SEO. They do not say you need to specify what techniques you use. All is up for grabs.

Just another big list of everyone. And a spammer to boot! LOL

Christian_SEO
25-10-2002, 13:17/01:17PM
While I think highly and value my listing with seoconsultants.com because of their high standards, I don't mind getting listed on sites that are not as picky.

Just like I wouldn't mind being listed in the Yellow pages...

But it's really a shame, because I will NOT list with topseos.com unless they publicly apoligize, even if everyone else does.

If they had just sent me one message, following some generally accepted practices, I would not be upset at all, in fact I'd be thrilled!

Thanks,
Christian

ihelpyou
25-10-2002, 13:20/01:20PM
They were just template driven bulk email to us. Nothing personalized about it. What a waste.

Advisor
25-10-2002, 13:30/01:30PM
Yep, I got about 20 of them.

The interesting thing is, the guy had actually personally emailed me a few days ago and asked me if I wanted to join. I really wasn't impressed with the place and didn't bother to answer him. When I ever saw the spam today I was appalled, but also glad that my initial reaction was on the money.

If I were those few sites that he "suckered' into joining, I'd delete my listing quickly! Would you want to be associated with that kind of bulk spam? I wonder if Bruce Clay and SiteLab realize what they've gotten themselves into. In my mind it could reflect badly on them to be associated with a spammer.

I promptly reported the spam to SpamCop, and hopefully many others have too.

Jill

MsSearch
25-10-2002, 13:47/01:47PM
funny how their contact page is down....

Christian_SEO
25-10-2002, 15:06/03:06PM
and the "about" page...

Look for the site to be down if it's with a good ISP. I reported each and every spam I got to SPAMCOP and the Federal Trade Commision (UCE@FTC.GOV).

For the FTC, it's easy, just forward a copy to them. If more people did that I think we would have seen some federal action by now, not just from some of the states.

Christian

Christian_SEO
25-10-2002, 15:10/03:10PM
Oh THANKS Jill.....!

Now we know what drove this guy to the edge... :-)

Christian

Advisor
25-10-2002, 15:14/03:14PM
Originally posted by Christian_SEO
Oh THANKS Jill.....!

Now we know what drove this guy to the edge... :-)
Hehe...I didn't actually reject him, I just never answered him back!

J

bigDugan
25-10-2002, 18:46/06:46PM
Christian, would you please put your sig in your sig file. Thanks!

Web Witch
25-10-2002, 19:15/07:15PM
Hum-m-m-m-m-m-m I didn't get a one....

ihelpyou
25-10-2002, 19:16/07:16PM
LOL

Well, we could forward you some?

Web Witch
25-10-2002, 19:37/07:37PM
....LMAO:p

No thank you :D

MakeMeTop
25-10-2002, 19:50/07:50PM
OK - I was the mug!

I got the e-mail, thought it was genuine - signed up - and then (when I was finished) discovered I had another 40 e-mails!

It is SPAM - if you see me listed - I WAS a MUG!

What a pile of cr*p!!!!!

ihelpyou
25-10-2002, 19:53/07:53PM
Oh my. That is soooooo funny. :green:::bouncy:

:D

I'd sue em Barry!! LOL

ihelpyou
25-10-2002, 20:01/08:01PM
LOL

I just went through every listing they have so far for every category. They all received 3 stars. Everyone of them.

Many I have not heard of.

NO mention of how these sites conduct business or what they heck they do. It's simply a clothes line list of web sites.

Also, the 'about us' page and 'contact us' page do not work at all. What a farse.

Also, not in Google or maybe deemed a link farm already. :)

Matt B
25-10-2002, 20:35/08:35PM
got the email too, it looked crappy so i deleted it.




I hate spam.