PDA

View Full Version : Anyone heard of www.britishinformation.com ?


datten
21-11-2002, 04:31/04:31AM
Hi everybody!

The marketting manager for one of the companies who's website I look after recieved an email inviting them to join

www.britishinformation.com

Now I'm a bit concerned by something the accompanying email says:

"The reason [the directory] obtains such high listings is predominantly due to the fact that it is surrounded by hundreds of very strong generic domain names such as www.recruitmentcompanies.com. "

Now is this a bit dodgy? Or am I paranoid? :) I just don't want to "hang around any bad neighbourhoods"...

They're quite pricey and I've never heard of them - can anyone tell me if they've had a satisfactory ROI from a listing with these guys? Maybe not - I think they might be new... in which case what would you advise - get in there early, or wait till they take off?

Cheers,

Dave

robwatts
21-11-2002, 04:49/04:49AM
Ive never heard of them personally other than via a reference to their url in another forum.

I had a little dig about and all i could find was thisfrom a NG spam report regarding an unsolicited email (http://groups.google.com/groups?q=britishinformation.com+info&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&selm=956uvq%24dqc%241%40nnrp1.deja.com&rnum=1)

They seem to have a good number of links to them, but these could just be from their advertisers.

Maybe someone else can shed more light on them.

datten
21-11-2002, 06:23/06:23AM
Thanks Rob.

Anyone else out there heard of this directory?

Has anyone actually advertised with them? Any traffic?

Dave

northwest4u
17-12-2002, 09:13/09:13AM
Submitted a few sites ages ago.

But as yet no traffic from them...