PDA

View Full Version : Was our engine just spidered?


tpentico
22-01-2003, 15:19/03:19PM
Hello everyone. Although I have been reading this forum for some time know I have never made a post. But, I have an odd question I am hoping someone will be able to help me with.

Our engine located at http://search.ffamall.com was spidered by "something" this morning from the IP 212.202.167.81
As our site contains a directory on the front page it appears this spider went through all these links starting at 05:39.10 EST and ending at 05:59:50 EST this morning.

It really is not a bid deal as our fruad protection catches this real quick as we know Google spiders the links as well and we obviously don't want our advertisers paying for this activitiy. However, I have been unable to figure out what this particular IP is. Does anyone recognize it as a search engine spider?

Normally we find out were this type of activity is coming from quickly so that we can ban the IP if it is a attempt at fraud. But for some reason this IP is stumping us.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Troy Pentico
FFAMall Web Search

ihelpyou
22-01-2003, 15:35/03:35PM
Welcome to the forums tpentico! :hi:

Here ya go! All the info you need. It looks like a isp scan from Germany of some kind.

http://www.ripe.net/perl/whois?form_type=simple&full_query_string=&searchtext=212.202.167.81&do_search=Search