View Full Version : Uh OH???
jimi_l
01-10-2001, 18:08/06:08PM
Hey all,
I just found this in my log
Agent: Microsoft URL Control - 6.00.8862
I tried to find some info on it but turned up nothing of consequence EXCEPT....
One page that states this is an attempt to gather E-mail lists from my logs(possible?) or check into copyright infringment on my site for either MS or one of their paid cronies.Can anyone shed any light on this entry??
thanx
jimi_l
ihelpyou
01-10-2001, 18:12/06:12PM
Yes. There are many sites that do searches and services for copyright infringement, etc. Could be an MS robot that is doing the same. Most of them are very innocent.
Spider Man
01-10-2001, 18:21/06:21PM
Jimi_l,
This is an ocx control for programmers to internet enable their applications. It's used in visual basic and others languages. Hence it could be anything but it's almost certainly not microsoft checking (phew!!!). I guess the email lists thingy comes because programs can use this to read web pages and extract addresses from the pages (but not from the logs)!
Don't worry about it. It could even be one of mine :-)
highman
02-10-2001, 04:49/04:49AM
>It could even be one of mine :-)
lol......
or one of ours ;)
on a side note, we were playing with one of these and got our whole class C banned from google :eek: ...... beware
Blue
02-10-2001, 11:45/11:45AM
There are many sites that do searches and services for copyright infringement, etc. So, what is it these types of sites are looking for specifically?
ihelpyou
02-10-2001, 12:06/12:06PM
There are many services out there that anyone can contract to look for images, text, etc, that may infringe on a site's ownership. Sites can hire these services to keep watch for this.
JuniorHarris
02-10-2001, 12:55/12:55PM
The ip address could be the biggest clue in determining the intent.
Look the ip address up in the corresponding registry (ARIN (http://www.arin.net)) and find out who owns it. You can also perform a trace route Neotrace (http://www.neotrace.com/) to determine the connections...many times you might see node names with dsl or the such which you can determine is most likely a dial up user, or that it is indeed coming from MicroSlug.
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.