PDA

View Full Version : Why PPC Has a Bad Name For Many


ihelpyou
11-10-2001, 19:21/07:21PM
Here is a current bidded ad on Sprinks:

------} Search Engine Optimization Wizard {-------
Search Engine Optimization wizard will automatically generate 20 keyword specific doorway pages and then submit them and your site to over 1000 of the top search engines and directories only $79.95.
http://www.urlEdited (Cost to Advertiser: $0.25)

These types of "submission" companies are given the opportunity by the PPC's to generate a buck from innocent newbies or people out of the know. This ad was found on the About.com site. These types of sites are another form of scumware on the net. If it was not for the PPC's, a company such as this would not be found at all on ANY search engine.

Mel
11-10-2001, 21:14/09:14PM
Hey Doug:

This may be a blessing in disguise.

About a month after that company submits 20 machine generated doorway pages to 1000 search engines, your site is going to be getting such poor rankings that they will come begging for legit SEOs Help

ihelpyou
11-10-2001, 21:38/09:38PM
I know what you mean but the fact that these companies are allowed a "safe haven" to Peddle their wares to newbies only to make a buck is disgusting. They show no mercy nor do they care for the webmaster who is not in the know. They have No desire to help anyone.

ihelpyou
11-10-2001, 22:08/10:08PM
Some of you may be interested to see this "list" of PPC ads that seem to be used in some kind of way by this site. It does not look good. See what you all think about this:

http://www.redesubmit.com/

View the source code to see. Some are ads bidded out by a few of our forum members. Does not look like this may be an honest kind of thing. Not sure however, as I do not use PPC. Somehow, this site is generating revenue off PPC.

ihelpyou
12-10-2001, 14:49/02:49PM
Does anyone know about what the site above is doing with all those PPC links and ads?

Anyone?

Okay. That page is owned by findinfo.com which claims to have the world's most accurate search engine. The results are nothing but ALL PPC links. Totally.

Now, the Url above is listed in the search engines and comes up in search results on Google. Why do they have this separate domain and page in Google filled up with PPC links?

I am very curious about this.

Mel
13-10-2001, 00:43/12:43AM
Hi Doug:

As requested I have taken a look at this strange site and this is what I see:

All the listings are links to search queries from various search engines but not all are ppc engines - among them are Lycos and Yahoo search results.

All the queries originated from the same source (64.15.227.206) which resolves to an Internal department of Global Center, which is owned by Global Crossings, the internet backbone provider.

This smacks of a scheme I have seen described to boost your rank on Direct hits and Excite. You use previous queries, and by clicking on the results you are supposed to be able to drive your ranking upwards. Other than that I cannot see much use for this site, but the fact that it refers to many top SEO companies may establish it as some sort of an expert or authority page.

Perhaps Makemetop can shed some light on this, or perhaps he does not know his site is listed here.

Anybody have any other ideas?

MakeMeTop
13-10-2001, 07:01/07:01AM
Thanks for pointing that out - no, I had no idea about this set of listings, but will check referral logs. My listing is not a PPC one (which is surprising if it is some sort of scam as I have some high bids - and was my first thought) but from my directory listing in the Mamma Collection which leads me to think that this is the place which this data has been mined from (which would explain Yahoo and Lycos listings as well as PPC). However, the vast majority of listings in Mamma are PPC and this might be some sort of click-through spam set up though I doubt it. Worthy of a bit more investigation.

Can't really see the point of the whole thing though and would (as a first thought) agree that it is designed to gain 'authority/hub' status on Google perhaps.

I do really wish people would stop adding links to me from 'do-nothing' lists of links. I still spend half my time getting rid of links from a year ago on 'links2u' type pages where some 'kind' person added my name!!! Some of these pages still have me in them even though the link organisers removed me when I asked 18 months ago. The culprits have just not updated their link pages - so I'm still in them. Now I have people putting up Zeus built link farms with me always in them. I have a sneaking feeling this is why I'm getting the shaft from Google at the moment!

FindInfo is another bottom feeder 'search engine' which is trying to get affiliate revenue from 2nd tier PPC SEs like Kanoodle, Ah-Ha and Sprinks. Bad news for the unwary, doesn't damage me too much as I'm too low down the radar. I'll still report them though.

ihelpyou
13-10-2001, 07:15/07:15AM
Good observations guys! No matter what, this page is some sort of a scheme meant to accomplish a couple of things. I do think it has to do with revenue for findinfo and PPC's. I also think some kind of rank boost in Google is a goal. Either way, it is suspicious looking.

ihelpyou
13-10-2001, 07:30/07:30AM
yea Barry, if you were not soooo darn popular, people would not include your link! :D

I keep a low profile. Not now however. :rolleyes:

JuniorHarris
13-10-2001, 11:57/11:57AM
That is a fine example of a link list not to be on! And one wonders why PPCs have a bad name...it's called shady partners!~ :o:

Congrats to Barry for winning the popularity contest!~ ;)